Curatorial mentorship


Contemporary Art Tasmania is now in its 23rd year of supporting, mentoring and presenting exhibitions through its Curatorial Mentorship Program. It is designed to assist an emerging curator to gain knowledge and skills, and aims to increase professional curatorial and artistic activity in Tasmania. 

The program offers $3000 towards professional development and exhibition research. The negotiated exhibition and publication outcomes are funded separately through CAT’s exhibition program.

Curatorial applications can be experimental, ambitious or imaginary. The clear articulation of an exciting or challenging idea or project rational is critical to the selection process. 

The mentored curator gains experience in all aspects of developing a public exhibition and producing an exhibition catalogue. As part of this mentorship the recipient also sits on the CAT Program Committee and gains invaluable insight and experience in the decision-making processes that determine the CAT exhibition program.


Application information

The mentorship position will be awarded on the basis of how well the application material demonstrates:

  • A strong and original exhibition concept supported by references to relevant artists
  • A close engagement with contemporary visual culture
  • Strong communication skills that reveal an enthusiasm for ideas surrounding visual culture and its interpretation
  • A commitment to pursuing a professional practice and willingness to fully utilise the mentorship towards assisting the development of a professional career

Preference will be given to projects that increase opportunities for emerging Tasmanian artists. This opportunity is only available to people residing in Tasmania for the period of the mentorship. Curatorial Mentorship recipients must be a current Contemporary Art Tasmania member.

Applications for the 2019 Mentorship are due on 30 June 2018. 

Download selection criteria and application information (PDF)


2018 Curatorial Mentorship has been awarded to Linda Crispin.

Past recipients include: 

  • Mary Knights (1995)
  • Jane Stewart (1997)
  • Kelly Squires (1998)
  • Sally Rees (1999)
  • Jessica Ball (2000)
  • Kylie Johnson (2001)
  • Colin Langridge (2002)
  • Celia Lendis (2003)
  • Maria MacDermott (2004)
  • Scot Cotterell (2005)
  • Tristan Stowards (2006)
  • Carol Hammond (2007)
  • Jack Robins (2008)
  • Sarah Jones (2009)
  • Victor Medrano-Bonilla (2010)
  • Claire Needham (2011)
  • Matt Warren (2012)
  • Bec Stevens (2013)
  • Polly Dance (2014)
  • Lisa Campbell-Smith (2015)
  • Eliza Burke (2016)
  • Emily Bullock (2017)



Image credit: Vivienne Cutbush, Here and Elsewhere, 2017, series of 8 collages, mixed media, each approx. 56cm x 76cm. Passages, Curated by Emily Bullock, 2017 CAT Curatorial Mentorship. Photo Jan Dallas